

PHILIP D. MURPHY Governor SHEILA Y. OLIVER Lt. Governor GOVERNOR'S COUNCIL ON ALCOHOLISM AND DRUG ABUSE PO Box 345 Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0345

NEIL VAN ESS Acting Chairman CELINA LEVY Executive Director

MINUTES

Governor's Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse

January 17, 2023

Attendance: Neil Van Ess (Chairman), Celina Levy (Executive Director), John Armato (Public Member), Gregg Benson (Public Member), Donna DeStefano (Public Member), Eileen Fishman (Public Member), Moira Nelson (Public Member), Donna Westhoven (AOC), Jeff Carrick (DCF), Herbert Kaldany (DOC), Lu Pereira (DOE), Lashunda Harden (DOH), Annette Riordan (DHS), Rebecca Glinn (DOL), Craig Sashihara (LPS), Chuck Robbins (DMAVA), Allison Samay (NJ President's Council)

Call to Order

The three hundred and sixty seventh regular meeting of the Governor's Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Executive Director Celina Levy.

Open Public Meetings Act Statement

Ms. Levy announced that notice of this meeting was provided in compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act (N.J.S.A. 10:4-6-10:4-21). In addition, Ms. Levy stated that public comments were to be provided electronically, through the GCADA website contact portal between the hours of 10am and 1pm on the day of the meeting.

Roll Call

Katelyn Assenheimer called the roll. Members present and absent were noted for the record.

Election of Officers

Executive Director Celina Levy asked for a nominations for Vice Chair of the Governor's Council. Gregg Benson nominated Neil Van Ess and this was seconded by Gisele Pemberton. After a vote, Mr. Van Ess was elected Vice Chairman. (Y-16; N-0: ABS-0).

Mr. Van Ess asked for a nomination for two second Vice Chairs. Donna DeStefano was nominated by Gregg Benson for first second Vice Chair and this vote was seconded by Herb Kaldany. After a vote, Donna DeStefano was elected second Vice Chair. (Y-16; N-0; ABS-0).

Ms. DeStefano then nominated Gregg Benson for the second Vice Chair and this vote was seconded by John Armato. After a vote, Gregg Benson was elected second Vice Chair. (Y-16; N-0; ABS-0).

Approval of Minutes

After a brief discussion, the minutes for December were approved. (Y-14; N-0; ABS-3)

Executive Director's Report

Executive Director Celina Levy shared with the Council that she and Deputy Director Rebecca Alfaro had a call with the Governor's office last week and that they remain invested in identifying ways to offset the decrease in DEDR funds and to ensure long-term sustainability of the Alliance program.

Ms. Levy and Ms. Alfaro also had a meeting with NCAAR-BH to continue to explore collaborative opportunities with their organization and they will be having ongoing conversations with new and existing partners in 2023 to help with prevention efforts.

Sara Thode, Director of Prevention and Planning shared with the Council that the planning phase for AGATE has been completed with an anticipated rollout in early 2023. All of fiscal year 2024 will be in MAGS, the online grant system. She also informed the Council that the deadline to spend the first pot of DMHAS funding had been extended one year until June 30th through a no cost extension to the Alliances.

Adjournment

Mr. Van Ess adjourned the meeting at 10:46.